4 Letter Words….

 

BirdRoad…June.Fall...Keep…Life..Hand..Like..
Rose..Ride..Cook..Book..work..Bake..Look..July..

I was  in the Kitchen when
so plain i clearly heard
My  tiny Son, (the oldest one)
Spell out a bad four letter word.
I remembered the game my Dad
Played daily with my brother and me
Learning to spell out all the words
Of 3 from A to Z…
I thought of God and how it was
The first word I learnt to spell
And How I want to play that game..
With My  kids and do it well…
As i prayed i seemed to hear
A silent voice that said
“Look  past the word he’s spelling and
See what it’s telling you instead..”
“One word leads to anouther
And it’s always been that way”..
If he spelt that, don’t  say he can’t
Spell words like good and pray..”

As we gathered at the supper table 
I put my hand benieth his chin.. 
Said I heard you spell a word today
Will you spell it for  us again??..
He looked at me with guilty eyes
As he slowly lowered his head..
“I’m not supposed to say that word”
“So i spelt it out instead..”
I  asked him how old he will be
on his Birthday  he said ” four!”
Ond once he could spell  how old that was
He wanted to learn more.
From Stop to love, hope and kiss
home, food,  help , like and  door 
We spent each day busy at play
collecting our words of four.
  

 

Bird .,..Turn.. Nose..Ball,..Pink..Time..Blue..Desk..Good

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

~ by connetta on March 16, 2011.

5 Responses to “4 Letter Words….”

  1. Beautiful, thanks for sharing.
    Barb

  2. Hi – this is Chloe from “Writing Days-Happy Days” with my new blog. Just to let you know I’ve subscribed to your blog now as Blossom Dreams. Please visit if you get a chance (if you haven’t already).

    Many thanks,
    Chloe xx

  3. I love thi poem Connie,and the wise lesson shared.

  4. Thanks Mike, i wrote that yesterday morning and need to go over it and fix a few lines that need more/or less words.

  5. One of the most touching poems I’ve ever read.

Leave a Reply

 
