Dancing For Autumn…

1536306316_369ef95e7e.jpg 

Walking down
the old  gravel road
just off the highway..
i found myself
listening to the sounds
of Autumn falling..
far ahead of me
where the road seems
to dissapear
I watch 3 squarrels
gathering nuts
from this years harvest
running to burry them
on the hillside.
over and over
they stop in the road
checking to see
what i ‘m doing.
somehow they seem
to know I ‘m not
A “public hunter”.
One by one
they carry away
The nuts in the road.
They do not seem to mind
me watching them..
Leaves fall around me
floating in the wind
as if dancing for Autumn…

~ by connetta on September 22, 2011.

2 Responses to “Dancing For Autumn…”

  1. What a lovely metaphor. And your posts combine two of my favorite things, poetry and photography. Thank you for sharing them:)

  2. I wish I could take a walk with you.

Leave a Reply

 
