Stilll Standing…..

1879580742_afaedb1736.jpg

So graceful she stands
on a hill all alone
a Once Upon time
house called a home..
her doors are open
windows long without glass
But to me this old house still
has a whole lot of class….
the paint on her walls
long ago lost their shine..
but they still hold the sounds
she’s heard in her time..
they’ll go down with her
someday when she falls..
And she’ll take along with her
the floors with the walls.
her windows still capture
the sight others saw..
they hold the reasons
why she still doesn’t fall..
her floors are not sturdy
in places I found
There’s only one stairway
That is still safe and sound..
But, the old porch carved
By strong loving hands
Says a lot about reasons
of why she still stands…

~ by connetta on January 15, 2012.

5 Responses to “Stilll Standing…..”

  1. I love this one, I love old houses. I hope someone buys it and restores it before she falls down. My husband and I fell in love with an old dilapidated farmhouse and we are restoring it to make it our nest. This one reminds me of it. I missed your poems and lovely pictures.

  2. You echo my thoughts exactly.
    Beautiful photo, evocative words.

  3. I love this photo, and your words are absolutely perfect!!

    I have said it before, and I will say it again…you have a gift with your lense and your words!!

  4. Jan,
    Guess it is a secret the house holds…i wonder these things too.This is Fancy house..my favorite of them all..have a lot of pictures of her..”abandoned ohio” has a nice link to inside fancy house.
    http://www.abandonedohio.com/fancy.html
    plus my falickr site has a set just for this house with around 50+ pictures..

  5. What a wonderful photo and poem…i often wonder when i see your pictures of abandoned houses what happened for them to end up like this…why did the people leave them to the elements!

Leave a Reply

 
